Moraine State Park

IMG_6376

IMG_6385This weekend I got out into the woods again. Yay!

I am already enjoying the fact that we are within 45 minutes of three state parks and have even more options within a 2 hour radius. So on Sunday, I decided to explore a new place: Moraine State Park.

I hiked part of the Glacier Ridge Trail, the longest trail in the park (14.8 miles) and part of the North Country Tail, which holds a special place in my heart as it also crosses through the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. This trail sticks to a thick, wooded ridge line that runs above Moraine Lake. The trail was shaded, deep green, and almost-empty. I loved settling into the quiet, with sunlight filtering through the trees in blinding winks. It was good to breath deeply and think about nothing for four hours.

I also took a side trail down to the marina. It was loaded with people, and the sun was sticky-hot. But I loved watching the sail boats glide across the horizon and I saw butterflies flitting from flower to flower. A happy way to spend a water break.

A very nice Sunday afternoon!

IMG_6382IMG_6374

2 Comments on “Moraine State Park”

  1. Nothing better than being one with nature and the great outdoors – Beautiful captures:)

    Like

  2. North Country Trail sounds like all kinds of awesomeness.

    Like


Leave a Reply

