It’s so cold… so, so, cold

I feel a little like I am on repeat. When people call, they ask, “How’s Alaska?” And I find myself continuously saying, “It’s cold. Like, really cold.” Over and over and over. So I am not surprised when Lucas tells me that this winter has been the 5th coldest in the history of Fairbanks. And the coldest in the last 40 years. Record breaking cold.

This weekend was been no exception. Yesterday, it was -52 degrees. We had ice fog as thick as smog on Saturday and Sunday. It is the kind of weekend that lends itself to movie marathons and snuggling on the couch.

But in light of the cold, we decided to repeat an interesting “science experiment” that produces an almost magical result. This weekend was the perfect storm of conditions to try it again, very cold, dry air. To conduct this experiment, you simple boil water, take it outside, and toss it into the air. And poof: the water evaporates into a snowy cold of tiny ice droplets before it even touches the ground. It looks a little like the smoke from dry ice.

Below is a short video documenting the results. Enjoy! And keep your fingers crossed for us that it warms up a little next weekend so we can get out and play in the snow.

4 Comments on “It’s so cold… so, so, cold”

  1. I will have to remind myself of this post when I think 20 degrees is cold:)

    Like

  2. Nancy says:

    Well. . .that’s a video that I want my grandchildren and great-grandchildren to see!

    Like

  3. Charlie says:

    Wow! That is pretty cool 🙂 I live in the UK and thought it was chilly today when I walked the dog, then I reminded myself someone I know who lives in Lithuanian had said it was -25 last night…then you say -52. It’s lovely and warm here!!

    Like

  4. I think it is wonderful that you find all sorts of good things and beauty even when winter is at its’ harshest. You make me want to visit the North Pole!

    Like


Leave a Reply

