Where are you Mr. Sunshine?

Well, the days are getting shorter, and shorter, and shorter. Yesterday we had 3 hours and 50 minutes of light. We are only four days away from the darkest day of the year, winter solstice. But yesterday at least the sun came out from behind the clouds, and I stood at the window, like a turtle on a log, trying to soak in as much light as possible.

On the bright side, it is also our last day of really dark. This afternoon we will board a plane for Pennsylvania. We will be traveling for, holy crap, 23 hours and arrive in a place without snow, 40 degree weather, and way more daylight. I imagine it will look a little like tiny moles coming out of a hole and blinking into the sunlight. Is it weird that I am not even taking a winter coat? 40 degrees sounds like spring to me!

When we get back to Alaska in January, the sun will be gaining ground each day. We will be on the up swing of darkness. But as I find myself saying often, I am glad we experienced it. And really it wasn’t as shocking to me as the super cold. It just made me appreciate sun in a new kind of way.

To document our last days of really, really dark, Lucas took a series of pictures documenting the light (or lack of light.) He time stamped most of the pictures (military time), see bottom right corner, to give you an idea of what you are looking at in terms of the day as a whole. The first picture, with no time stamp, is from 9AM. He took the pictures from the back of the clinic, also where our apartment is located.

What I find most interesting is that the sun never really rises. It just hoovers on the horizon, peaking up, then disappearing again. The light is always a little like sunset.

5 Comments on “Where are you Mr. Sunshine?”

  1. Jian Sha says:

    People reside in Alaska are admirable. I cannot handle that~~

    Like

  2. I visited Alaska one June when it was almost full daylight for 24 hours, and I remember noticing that the Sun never fully set. It would be dusk at best for a couple of hours. I think that is just amazing! Safe travels.

    Like

  3. I can’t wait to experience Alaska in all its day and night glory. What an amazing place!

    Like

  4. Hello, come and get warm here in Provence, France, through my blog:
    http://1tabbycat.wordpress.com/
    Please also read MY GREAT TRIP, ETHIOPIA:
    http://huberttabutiaux.wordpress.com/2011/04/16/introduction/
    I’d love a comment. Regards

    Like

  5. l0ve0utl0ud says:

    Wow, you’re so brave to be living through days with barely any sunlight! I find it very hard to deal with winter days when the sun sets at 5pm! 😉

    Like


Leave a Reply

