Am I a nomad yet?

I have been really thinking about this question as we try and figure out what we will do next. I think the strangest part of being “non-permanent” is the unknown. I literally have no idea where we will be living in January. Okay, I have a little bit of an idea, but I can’t start making plans or thinking about what comes next until everything is decided. This is a strange land for me. I am a planner. I like lists and calendars and knowing what is around the next corner. I am ready to start planning!

It makes me wonder if this is how real nomads feel? I imagine it isn’t. From my limited understanding of nomadic culture most groups move based on need. Their way of life depends on movement, just like animals that migrate in order to feed themselves with changing seasons. It seems like a rhythm or a tide, part of the normal flow of life.

From what I understand, nomads usually fall into three categories: hunter-gathers, herders, or craftspeople (skilled in certain trades). Movement for a nomad equals sustainability. I suppose we fall into the skilled craftspeople category, but although we can move with my husbands job, it certainly isn’t required. We are choosing to be nomadic.

But maybe any life, even when you are raised in it, is a choice at a certain level? I am straying a little from my point, but I am profoundly interested in choices. How we become who we are. And I think this is all an important part of our adventure.

So am I a nomad? It depends on your definition. But here are the things I can check off so far:

  • No permanent address (You would be surprised how often this becomes a problem- driver’s license, insurance, voting, etc.)
  • Travel with only what we can carry, i.e. limited “stuff” (this one I don’t really mind except I miss our bed…and our kitchen supplies; what I wouldn’t give for a good knife!)
  • Encountering new landscapes, people, food, and weather (check, check, check, and check. This is one of my favorite parts of traveling)
  • Feeling connected (I am surprised by how quickly I felt rooted in Alaska. I feel at home here. Strange how so many places in the world can feel like home. I like that.)

Fingers crossed I will be able to share our next “home” soon. Until then, cheers from Alaska!

3 Comments on “Am I a nomad yet?”

  1. HOME is WHERE YOUR HEART IS:) Loving the post!

    Like

  2. Cynthia says:

    I had that same horrible feeling last spring when we were waiting to see where Joe got into school. It’s hard to not be able to plan. Can’t wait to hear where you’re going next!

    Like


Leave a Reply

