Homemade Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

It is no secret that Lucas and I love desserts that feature peanut butter and chocolate, so when I saw a recipe for homemade peanut butter cups I was already drooling. And wow, the finished product did not disappoint.

I get my sweet tooth from both my grandmas and my mom, okay maybe all the women in my family love a good dessert. But the truth is, who doesn’t? Something sweet at the end of a meal puts a smile on your face and these peanut butter cups left Lucas and I chocolate-fingered and happy. After the first bite, Lucas turned to me and said, “These are good” with little bits of chocolate smudge across his lips. And for the next fifteen minutes or so our eating was only interrupted by sideways glances at each other and little words like “wow,” “amazing,” “SO good.” These are a five star treat.

I must warn you that they are rich, and coming from me, a girl who loves rich things, that is saying something. You can only eat one, maybe two, and you are knocked out in a haze of sweet. But what a wonderful haze it is 🙂

The worst (best) part about this recipe is that it is so easy. I could make these everyday, which of course is a terrible idea, but it is simple. The ingredient list is short and the longest part of the process is waiting for the finished product to set in the refrigerator. These could be a dangerous treat in our house. Rules and limits will have to be created and enforced so that we aren’t “treating” ourselves every week.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

yields 12 cups

What You Need:

3 cups chocolate*

1 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1/4 cup graham crackers, crushed

1 teaspoon sea salt

*I used dark chocolate chips, but you could use whatever type of chocolate you like — semi-sweet, milk chocolate or bittersweet.

To Make:

Place 12 paper liners in a muffin pan. Set aside.

Melt 1 1/2 cups of the chocolate in a double boiler or the microwave. Then use the back of a spoon to smooth a layer of melted chocolate onto the bottoms and sides of the paper liners. Be generous. Set the chocolate bowl aside, you will use it again later. Refrigerate the muffin pan for 20 minutes while you make the peanut butter filling.

Meanwhile in a mixing bowl, combine the peanut butter, crushed graham crackers, powdered sugar, and salt. Stir until well combined. The peanut butter mixture should be smooth.

Remove the muffin pan from the refrigerator. Place one to two spoonfuls of the peanut butter mixture in each liner. Distribute equally among the 12 cups. Tap the peanut butter mixture down in each cup so it is smooth on top and fills the bottom of the liner completely.

Now melt the remaining 1 1/2 cups of chocolate either in your double boiler or the microwave.  Cover the peanut butter mixture with the warm chocolate. Be generous. The peanut butter should not longer be visible. Smooth the tops of each cup or swirl as desired for aesthetics.

Place the muffin pan back in the refrigerator. In approximately one hour your cups should be set and ready to eat. Enjoy!

I found the recipe on the blog, Design Sponge.

5 Comments on “Homemade Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups”

  1. Tj says:

    I got a recipe that’s similar – but it’s for peanut butter bars with a graham cracker crust. I’ll make it for you guys when I get around to doing cinnamon rolls.

    Like

  2. Nancy says:

    only one word for this post: mmmmmmmmmmmm

    Like

  3. The Hook says:

    Looks awesome to me!

    Like

  4. LKD says:

    Peanut butter cups are my favourite and these look amazing! I’m going to try them. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  5. Val says:

    Definitely gonna try these… with a nice cup of tea!!

    Like


Leave a Reply

