When it’s cold I plug in my car, do you?

One of the funny things I like about Alaska in the winter is seeing  all the plugs hanging from the grills of cars like cigarette butts. I have to admit, when Lucas and I first saw them, we assumed they pulled out to connect to the plug-in stations. Incorrect assumption. It turns out you carry an all-weather extension cord in your car, and that is what links the car to the station. It is a little like tying your dog’s leash to a pole outside the grocery store.

Today was the first time we used the plug-in station in front of our apartment. I was pretty excited. Lucas plugged it in for me this morning before he went to work so I could run errands. Since it has been cold, they recommend you plug the car in for about two hours before you want to drive. When you are ready to go, let the car run 5-10 minutes and you are set.

Most public builds around here have plug-in stations. Public plug-ins run on a rolling basis, so they aren’t constantly “on.” To use the one at our apartment you flip a switch inside, again so it isn’t continually running. It is an easy process, but the extension cord is a little tough to wrangle. It is hard to plug and unplug from the car, and we are told as it gets colder it will get pretty stiff (think semi-frozen).

But what I am really looking forward to is pulling into the grocery store parking lot and seeing rows of cars all plugged-in. This just seems like it will be visually interesting. Or maybe just different than what I am used to. Either way, add another experience to our Alaskan story.

5 Comments on “When it’s cold I plug in my car, do you?”

  1. Nancy says:

    Ok–I will just hope that when you pull into that grocery store parking lot, there will be a plug-in station available for you!

    Like

  2. Courtney says:

    and how about when there are no plug-ins, people just leave their cars running – out for dinner, grocery store, etc. – and no one steals them! terrible for the environment, but wild to experience! I love your blog – I used to live in Fairbanks for a few years back in the mid-90s and we loved it. A magical place for sure…I still dream about it! Enjoy your adventures.

    Like

  3. Anita Mac says:

    What about at hotels! I remember pulling in to a hotel that I was staying at for work and being mystified by the plug-ins!!!! I should have known growing up in Canada – but then Dad always took care of those things!!!! 🙂

    Like

  4. Ha ha, I remember my sis having to do this too when she lived in Canada!

    Like

  5. Anita says:

    I live in a part of VA where it never snows, so when I saw these in Alaska on vacations in the 90s, I always thought someone was tinkering around with an electric car!

    Like


Leave a Reply

