Sprouted Lentils

Last year I learned a new, yummy way to eat lentils: sprouted. It is easy, quick, and reminds me a little of an elementary school science project. I haven’t made them for awhile, but this week, between snow and ice, I was ready for something crisp and refreshing in the kitchen.

I learned about sprouted lentils when we were living in Michigan’s upper peninsula. We were friends with a couple from India who moved into town about the same time we did. We usually met for dinner at one house or the other. I now have a small treasure trove of great authentic India recipes!

Making sprouted lentils is simple. All you need are lentils, water, and patience. I have always used brown or green lentils, but I imagine any kind would work, the texture just might be a little different. First, decide how many lentils you want to use. I like to make small batches (about 1/2 cup) so I have time to eat them while they are still fresh. Sprouted lentils last for a little over a week in the refrigerator.

Directions: Place the lentils in a small bowl. Generously cover with water. Let the lentils soak for 24 hours at room temperature (like with dry beans). Drain the lentils. Now, to sprout, let them sit out, uncovered, for another 24 hours at room temperature. Done!

Sprouted lentils are a great snack. I like them plain by the handful. But I think my favorite way to eat them is on a salad or in a wrap. They add a nice crunch. And as a bonus, they are great for you. Loads of protein, iron, potassium, and dietary fiber.  Happy Friday, and enjoy!

One Comment on “Sprouted Lentils”

  1. connie says:

    Think I’ll try them. Thanks for the idea.
    Mom

    Like


Leave a Reply

