Oatmeal Muffins

I have been pretty excited to try out a new muffin recipe all week. The recipe is from Heidi Swanson’s blog 101 Cookbooks (again!). The oatmeal muffins have a crumble that looks so good in her pictures. This morning I set out to bake them for our weekend road trip to Girdwood, AK. I love treats on a long drive.

The crumble was very easy to make and leftovers can be frozen for another time. And the muffins themselves were not hard to put together, but I had trouble with the bake. I burned the first six (I only have one baby muffin pan), but the inside was still really tasty. And the second batch came out a little crisper than I would have liked even with a shorter bake time and me hoovering by the oven. So I am not sure if it is the oven or me, but the results are still very taste!

I like that the recipe is sweet but still contains a good nutritious start to the day or snack.The recipe is below or see her blog here.

Oatmeal Muffins

Crumble:
3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup butter, melted

Muffin Batter:
1 cup  rolled oats
3/4 cup unbleached all purpose flour
3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
7 oz butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 cups plain yogurt
2 large eggs, whisked

Preheat oven to 350F. Butter muffin pans generously. Place oven racks in top third of oven.

Crumble: Combine the flour, oats, sugar, and salt in a bowl. Stir in the melted butter. Press mixer together and make three patties. Place the patties in the freezer for about ten minutes.

Muffin batter: In a bowl combine the oats, flours, baking soda, and salt.

Melt the butter in a saucepan. Remove from heat and stir in the sugar. Whisk in the yogurt, and then the eggs. Combine with the dry ingredients. Do not over mixing.

Fill muffins 3/4 full. Break crumble up and sprinkle on each muffin.

Here is where I had trouble. She recommends baking for 30 – 35 minutes or until tops are golden and a toothpick comes out clean. But I ended up lowering the oven temperature and taking them out early. I will have to make them again and play with this to see what the problem is. But overall, I like the taste!

2 Comments on “Oatmeal Muffins”

  1. macmaker says:

    interesting crumble technique! sounds good!

    Like


Leave a Reply

